Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

At the hospital August 13, 2009

So I’ve spent the past 15 hours at the hospital.  The original reason was because I had a second day of a headache, even with the meds for high bp.  So they had me come in for an assessment.  The good news is baby looks great–he passed all of his tests fabulously!  The not so good news is that my bp was still high, even with a lot of just lying around, and my headache wasn’t going away.  But my labs came back fine and I still don’t have pre-e.

So after about 5 hrs, they decided to admit me for observations and possibly induction.  They checked my cervix last night and I’m 2 cm dilated, 50% effaced and baby is at station -1.  I think he’s advanced since then, as I had quite a bit of cramping afterwards.  The doc was pretty surprised that he was so low and views that as my body’s way of preparing and knowing what it needs to do.  So it is a little scary that he could show up on the eve of 35w, but I’m at peace with it if it is healthier to have him out than to have him inside my body.  I feel like a ticking time bomb!

If I go home today, I’ll be on bedrest and he’ll probably make his grand entrance within the next two weeks.  I was just telling a work friend yesterday that I feel he’ll be here in August, although my guts say around the 27th-28th.  I was also telling hubby earlier this week that I felt him lower and like I was dilating.  When I reminded him of that last night, he said “that sounds somewhat familiar, but I wasn’t actually listening.”  Hee hee.  He’s been great since I’ve been here.  I hope he’s getting some decent sleep on that pullout bed.

 

One Response to “At the hospital”

  1. Michele Says:

    Fingers crossed for a safe and happy delivery. Have they given you an fFN to predict if labor is going to be within the next 2w?

    Fingers crossed that the pre-e stays away!!!


Leave a Reply

