Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

Almost 29 weeks… July 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 1:20 am
Tags: , ,

Whew.  I’m pooped from everything that has been going on!  First of all, let’s just get it out there that all is fine.

So here’s the update on the blood pressure….

I ended up at the hospital on Sat for labs and assessment since I was having some vision things where that seemed like fireflies in my peripheral vision.  They did labs for pre-e and gestational hypertension and everything came back great.  So that was a relief, but it was still measuring really high at work even when I didn’t feel stressed.  At all.  So I brought in my machine to conduct some experiments against the one at work and there is a difference of 15-20 pts between mine and work.  Then I brought mine into my doc office to calibrate against that and my machine is correct.  So for WEEKS I have been freaking out about my bp, adding more stress to my life, when there was no problem.  I’m so friggin’ irritated.  You’d just expect a bit more when you work at a health insurance company that has a mission of making people healthier.  Meanwhile, who knows how many employees are walking around thinking they have high bp, going to the doc, maybe even going on meds unnecessarily?  Brilliant.  I will be reporting this to human resources.  But the good news is that the big guy is absolutely fine!

28 week appointment…..

Today was my 28 week appointment and the big thing is the one hour glucose tolerance test.  The drink itself didn’t taste bad and it was a smaller quantity than I expected.  It did make me feel like I was going to pass out and made my acid reflux horrible.  I was a little worried about puking.  After waiting an hour, they do the blood draw and I failed by 4 pts.  Dang.  I’m sure the three hour on Monday will be absolutely fine, even though I am a dessert-aholic.  But I wonder if I’ll even make it through without puking or passing out?  Hmmm….

In other appointment news, belly is measuring perfectly and he sounds great.  As soon as I drank the glucose stuff, he was moving like mad!  In fact, while I waited he walloped me a couple of times so strongly that I saw my shirt move!  So it was fun to feel him moving around so much today.  I had a pretty bad sugar crash and felt lousy all afternoon.  So I now have a four day weekend to do the three hour on Monday.  Too bad it will be such an unpleasant experience.  And I’m now up 14 lbs.  I might not be able to keep it to my goal of 15-25 lbs.  Dang.

I was telling the doc that although I still have anxiety, it is much better now that I know he could survive if he’s born tomorrow.  She said that I really just need to get through the next four weeks and the children’s hospital here is so good that, although expensive, he’d be ok.  Obviously neither of us are hoping for that, but that really felt good to hear.

So it has been a bit of a crazy week!  I didn’t complete all our June goals.  Poop.  But the nursery walls are painted, the ceiling is 95% done and I did exercise quite a bit.  I’m going to have to think about what we can get done in July.  We do have a childbirth class and all about babies two different weekends at the hospital.  And now I really, really want to get the nursery done.

 

3 Responses to “Almost 29 weeks…”

  1. Michele Says:

    So glad things are going well! Yuck to the Glucose Tolerance Test. Those things are freaking nasty. I scheduled mine yesterday at the doctor’s office and have to say I probably made a nasty little face about it. But they suck.

    Still, so glad all is well and the little one is doing so great!

  2. Just wanted to let you know that I’ve been following your posts here, and I’m so happy to hear that you are doing well! I am so happy for you!

    That is so whacked about the bp readings, but at least you got to the bottom of it.

  3. meinsideout Says:

    That is crazy about the bp. Glad that you are okay and that the baby is okay!

    I cannot believe that you are so close…I am so thrilled and you continue to give me hope.


Leave a Reply

