Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

update from spotting April 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 11:37 pm
Tags: , ,

So I had more spotting on Sunday, which was still a small amount, but heavier than Fri night. I called the on-call doc, as the previous one had told me to call back if it happened again. This doc was horrible and pushed all of my buttons. She told me to relax, that the chances of having a miscarriage in the second tri are very small and, if I’m going to, there is nothing they can do anyway. Complete lack of sensitivity! You never, ever tell someone who is in the “less than 1% of the population” category that the chances are small that something could go wrong. I sobbed and was crabby for days.

Would you believe this woman has been an OB for 27 years???

After that, I just wanted to see my doc and waited for my 16 week appt today. That didn’t go exactly as planned, as my doc is unexpectedly out of the office for a couple of weeks. Luckily my appt was rescheduled with the first on-call doc I spoke to and she was v understanding and action oriented. After the horrible convo on Sunday, I had to turn to my good friend Dr Google for second tri spotting. I realized that I have several risk factors for an incompetent cervix (having a d&c, cone biopsy and LEEP all in the last few years.) I explained my symptoms and that concern in particular. She peeked and poked, thinking all seems fine. And she also scheduled an ultrasound tomorrow to check the length of my cervix. If it is not ideal, I’ll be coming in every 1-2 weeks for another ultrasound until about week 22. I definitely feel much better, simply by being listened to and taken seriously. Hopefully I’ll get to see a bit of the baby tomorrow too!

 

3 Responses to “update from spotting”

  1. meinsideout Says:

    Gosh I wish that hags like that would give it up if they are going to act like that!!!

    It is good to hear you advocating for yourself – I hope the news continues to be okay and that if it is cervix related, they catch it and can do something about it.

    ((HUGS))

  2. Wow, I can’t believe she still gets patients with an attitude like that!
    I am glad that the other OB was more caring and understanding. My God… who wants to hear abt “less than 1%” chances… just tell me everything is fine and that it will be fine!! Hoping that your u/s tomorrow shows that everything is alright!

  3. Michele Says:

    I had a horrible experience with an on-call OB that led to preterm labor with you youngest. Does your doctor have an emergency number? Had I or they gotten in touch with my doctor, Alex would be here today. Your doctor knows you better than any on-call and would be able to figure out what is going on, probably, better.

    I dont know why some of these $^%*&# OBs are still practicing. It breaks my heart every single time that I hear stories like yours.

    I’m so glad that you are standing up for yourself and getting answers! So many patients get railroaded.


Leave a Reply

