Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

Starting to buy (or think about it) March 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 1:59 am
Tags: , ,

So I’m starting to feel a mix of “it’s ok to buy baby stuff” and “OMG.  We are going to need so much stuff, so better start shopping!”  My hubby doesn’t know this.  : )

I’ve found that I’m anti-bedding sets overall.  Well, there are some great ones out there, but the things I like are a little spendy and it seems that most of it is not needed (aka bed skirt, quilt, bumper) or may not even be safe.  Going with my pale yellow and aqua theme, I found a couple of fabrics to make sheets.  Here are photos that are similar, although I couldn’t find the exact color combo:

(of course the mac will not allow me to insert the photos, so here are links)

Chestnut branches in an aqua background with yellow branches

Coriander in a yellow background with aqua branches, bottom right

I like! I’ve also been researching and pondering cribs and nursery furniture in general. I thought the convertible crib is the way to go, but most are made from pine and easily scratched. Unless we want to spend quite a bit, which I can’t see doing. This is most likely the only child we’ll give birth to–I’m 39 now and there were five losses to get here. Just imagine what that would be like in my 40s?!? Someday we may adopt, but an older child, so we can’t really justify the cost over multiple kids. IKEA is going to be the way to go for us and there is one just a few miles away. No decisions yet on style or white vs birch, but it is nice to narrow it down after looking at the seemingly endless possibilities. You could drive yourself mad!

It is also a personal goal of mine to never step foot into Babies R Us. I went there with a girlfriend a few years back and that place was NUTS.

 

2 Responses to “Starting to buy (or think about it)”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I love the patterns! I also hear you about Babies R Us – it is pretty crazy in there!

    Have fun shopping!

  2. Ashley Says:

    I’m so glad you’re at this point in your pregnancy where you can start buying all this cute baby stuff. It’s weird huh to even be thinking about it. We just bought and assembled the crib and it felt incredibly unreal. Can’t wait to see all the goodies that you get!


Leave a Reply

