Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

The rest of the story about doc appt yesterday January 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 12:55 am

First off, there is no bad news in this post!  No additional good news either, but I just have to get some things off my chest about the appt yesterday.  So I am still at the RE, even though it was a DIY month when I got pregnant this time.  So the conversation before the ultrasound went like this:

nurse:  Did you get your period after the letrozole cycle?

me: No, I had a chemical pregnancy.  (Why do they NEVER review your charts anyway?!?)

nurse:  Did we make sure your levels went down to zero?

me: No, but it went below 10, which I was told by the nurse was non-pregnant, so we stopped the blood tests then.  

nurse:  So when did you start bleeing?

me:  I don’t know.  Sometime around that last beta.  Either that day or the next.

At this point, I can tell she is questioning if I’m actually pregnant or if it is leftover from the previous cycle.  Never mind my betas in early Dec went from 20 to just over 20 to below 10 and a week or so ago they went from 75 to 550.  Never mind this is my sixth time I’m pregnant and might just kinda have a clue of what is going on in my body.  She continues to question when I was bleeding, when I ovulated, etc etc.  Then….

nurse:  Well, how do we know how far along you are if you don’t know any of these dates?

me:  I have it all at home.  I just don’t know what they are off the top of my head.  I think I’m 6w3d.

nurse:  Do you have any symptoms?

Yes, she seriously asked me that.  Oh yes, nurse, you are right.  I’m faking the pregnancy!!!  She ended up being quite lovely once she saw an actual baby in there.  She did s a little surprised that the baby was 6w3d, “just like you thought.”  I managed not to say I TOLD YOU SO!!!!

Sometimes I just feel like the medical professionals feel like unless they tell you something and control every aspect of your care, it isn’t true.  Maybe that is actually more at the REs office.  My OB is all about providing you with loads of info and feels that patients are v educated individuals these days.  So this isn’t a rant against all medical professionals.  There are many fab people out there.  I just didn’t appreciate being grilled yesterday on whether, in fact, I am actually pregnant or not.  Geez.

 

2 Responses to “The rest of the story about doc appt yesterday”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Yikes – it was like you were being interrogated…still, so, so freaking happy for you.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Yay!! Just now got a chance to see the good news, congrats!!!


Leave a Reply

