Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

Update to BBF (bye bye fat) October 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 1:12 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m happy to report that I’ve lost two pounds this week.  Woo hoo!  I made it to the gym and tried to focus on eating fruits and veggies.  It would have been more if I didn’t have multiple beers and glasses of wine, but that is where I draw the line.  

It was also the last week of our CSA and they sent a recipe for chocolate beet cake.  Since I do have a major sweet tooth, why not throw some veggies into the mix?  I actually can’t even tell the beets are in there and it makes me giggle as I think of Dwight Schrute and his beet farm.  So here’s the recipe:

1 c sugar

1 c flour

1/4 t salt

1 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

2 oz unsweetened chocolate

2 eggs

2 T oil

1.5 c shredded beets

Preheat to 325.  Grease 9″ square cake pan.  Sift dry ingredients together.  Melt chocolate and let cool.  Blend in eggs and oil thoroughly.  Combine dry ingredients with chocolate mixture, alternating with beets.  Throw it in the pan and bake 30-40 mins.  Cover with powdered sugar, berries, whipped cream or chocolate frosting.

I chose the chocolate frosting.  Ok, so I did cheat a bit this week!

 

One Response to “Update to BBF (bye bye fat)”

  1. Lisa Says:

    That is great! I am not losing – in fact I gained about 2 pounds this week – I have been just a mess with my eating.

    I loved the episode where Jim and Pam stayed on the beet farm – was that Dwight’s cousing running around – I cannot remember his name…


Leave a Reply

