Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

Week 9: it’s a giant olive! August 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 10:44 am
Tags: , ,

So the baby is supposed to be the size of an olive this week, but it must be the biggest olive ever!  I’m much bigger in the pelvic area.  It is probably just my uterus growing–I had read that it starts out the size of your fist and grows to the size of a grapefruit by the end of the month.  

So last night I decided it was time to shop for some maternity clothes.  That didn’t go so well.  Everything at Motherhood Maternity seemed like cheesy stuff I wouldn’t normally wear, the Gap had a small selection with nothing in my size and the stuff I tried on at Mimi maternity was just way too big for me.  It was pretty discouraging.  I ended up going to the regular Gap and just buying a couple things a size bigger.  (I do like Gap sizing on pants because I’m short and don’t have to deal with getting anything hemmed.  And they come in actual sizes, unlike Motherhood and Mimi with their S, M, L routine.)  So they feel great and I have some room to grow.  But it was pretty discouraging to be in a size 12 now when I was an 8 a year ago and even a 6 sometimes 1.5 years ago.  Having 3 miscarriages in a year really took a toll on my body and my mind.  I just want to kick myself for being so down and lazy and turning to comfort food (and drink!) during that time.  And if I have to be a 12 for now to have a healthy baby, so be it.

BTW–that makes me a large at Motherhood and Mimi.  Ugh!  I don’t think I’ll be shopping there.  And they were already too snug on my boobs.  I’m going to be one roly-poly pregnant lady.

Other than that, I still have a nasty cough.  As far as pregnancy symptoms, lots of discharge, expanding in pelvic area, moody, tired.  My boobs aren’t hurting that much, which makes me nervous.

 

Leave a Reply

