Dream you’re mine

The journey from miscarriage to whatever comes next

Retail therapy? April 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — agplatters @ 12:51 pm

It’s an interesting twist right now.  We’ve had a car crash and burn (not literally!)  I found myself on the side of the road in a dead 1988 Reliant K car on Sunday.  Ya know, the one that used to be Nate’s grandma’s car with the ceiling cloth stapled to the top of the car and other lovely features.  I am not too torn up about it!  It is pretty sad when the “nice” car is an 8 year old Corolla with 120k miles.  : )  But until Sunday, they both got us where we need to go.

So it wasn’t really part of the plan–the plan was to buy a new house this summer and have a baby.  But I have to admit, the thought of a new car is kinda exciting!  It is our first big purchase together, if you don’t consider wedding and travel.  We’ve pretty much set our minds on a Honda Element.  Nate wants something with four wheel drive and the ability to tow his fishing boat.  We do lots of outdoorsy things, with and without the pup, so it is made for messes and easy clean ups.  And you can sleep two people in it!  Great for camping in an unexpected storm.  Last night we did a test drive…the salesman asked if we had kids….and the surprising thing is it didn’t hurt.  It was one of those moments where I catch my breath, but I didn’t feel the tears coming on or feel like crawling into bed with the dog, cat, a bucket of ice cream and some wine.  That’s a good thing, right?  

I have two theories on why this makes me feel better.  

1.  We know we will need another car when the kid comes.  The Corolla is still pretty reliable, but it doesn’t have great traction in rain or snow.  So we wanted to get something sturdier for kid time and we wanted something that could comfortably fit two adults, an 80 lbs dog and a baby.  So even though we really aren’t any closer to having a kid, it feels like we’ll be better prepared.

2.  One of the hardest things for me with the miscarriages is that my body totally betrays me and there is nothing I can do about it.  I’m a planner.  I like to have something to look forward to and take steps to make that happen.  Miscarriages are so completely out of my control.  So this is making me feel like it is something I can control again.  

So there ya go.  I’ve spent most of my time at work doing anything but work….looking up used Elements, reading reviews, figuring out financing.  But hey, I manage to get out of bed and show up every day.  I’m just taking a mini-vacation from my desk.  

 

One Response to “Retail therapy?”

  1. rosebud78 Says:

    Hey there Nancy! I’m so sorry you got in a car accident this weekend – but so relieved you guys are OK!! It is definitely exciting that you’re getting a new car. And I’m glad the sales guy didn’t upset you when asking about kids.

    I sent you an e-mail last week. I hope you are doing well, and write soon if you get a chance.

    Hugs,
    Daina


Leave a Reply

